D'jenks – Blaze Of Fire LP

Product.Nr.: JUMP195LP

Manufacturer: JUMP UP RECORDS

EUR 19,00
incl. 19 % VAT

  • weight 0,3 kg

product description

Did you check out their scorcher on the Jump Up 30th Anniversay CD sampler? That was a funky ska jam called “Reggae All Night Long” that just gets stuck in your head!

D’JENKS hail from Jakarta, Indonesia and combine elements of reggae with a punk rock attitude – their sound is heavily influenced by Toots and The Maytals, Operation Ivy, The Dead 60’s and The Clash. The reggae music that D’Jenks play uses more guitar distortion with a raw sound because they “don’t want to stick to the stereotype that reggae is Bob Marley and has to be red, yellow and green” – because we all know it’s actually broader than that! Many people today compare the band to The Aggrolites for an equally “dirty reggae” sound!

In 2010 D’Jenks participated in the compilation “Return of the rootbois vol. 1” is a compilation of Indonesian ska and reggae bands released by Revival Records. Then in 2011 the song “Prison Blues” was included in the compilation “Life Is Beautiful” which was initiated by the Jakarta Arts Institute music community through Maximum Soul Records. Apart from that, Prison Blues was also chosen to fill the original soundtrack for the film “Arisan 2” by Nia Dinata. In 2013 D’Jenks released their first full album, assisted by Pavilion Records for production and Demajors for distribution. In 2015, the single Kala Musik Bergema Volume.1 was released by Offbeat Records to be included in the compilation “Indonesia Reggae Sounds”, from reggae bands throughout Indonesia. And in 2015 D’Jenks also formed Soundclash Records which finally released Soundclash Vol.1, a three way split from a band that has Jamaican music roots in Indonesia, namely The Skabanton (Surabaya) and James Steady (Cirebon).  Fast forward to 2023 and D’JENKS unleash “Blaze of Fire” on a limited edition eight track cassette – we decided for the vinyl version to add 6 more tracks in an expanded edition! Fire red vinyl! ***THIS IS A 2024 LP SUBSCRIPTION CLUB SELECTION***


A1 Reggae Reseh
A2 Watcha Gonna Do
A3 Reggae All Night Long
A4 Mrs. Rita
A5 Factory Cruelty
A6 No Peace Today, No Life Tomorrow
A7 Pressure Going Through

B1 Mati Sekarang, Hidup Selamanya
B2 Sunshine In The Dark
B3 You Make Me Get Fall
B4 Everybody Happy Now
B5 Hidup Ini Milik Kalian
B6 Api Dan Udara
B7 Baksdul (Dub)